Healthy-ish Greek Pasta

Who are my pasta lovers out there?

I’m always down for a pasta dish. I love them all… lasagna, alfredo, baked ziti, scampi, carbonara, the list goes on and on… But if you’re watching your waistline you know that pasta is not your best friend. I have found that eating whole wheat pasta in proper portions won’t kill you.

I found a recipe in a Weight Watchers Simply Solo book I have, but I can’t seem to find it online to link it here. I used that as inspiration for this recipe for Greek Pasta.

IMG_0211

Healthy-ish Greek Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of whole wheat penne pasta (Don’t like penne? Pick another shape that floats your boat.)
  • 1-2 T olive oil
  • 2 medium sized boneless skinless chicken breasts, sliced
  • 1 T minced
  • 1 package cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 medium zucchini, slicked thin
  • 3 cups packed arugala/spinach blend
  • 1/4 c chopped Kalamata olives
  • Reduced-fat crumbled feta to top your portion

Directions:

  • Boil the pasta according to the directions on the box. Salt the water if you’d like. Cook the pasta al dente. Add zucchini to the pasta water 2 minutes before your timer goes off.
  • Prepare the chicken breasts by trimming away fat. I used a pair of kitchen shears to slice these into thin strips.
  • Heat the olive oil in a large skillet. Add chicken. Cook for approximately 4-5 minutes until chicken is white and begins to turn golden.
  • Add garlic. Cook for 2 minutes, then add tomatoes.
  • Drain pasta and zucchini and add it to the skillet. Toss together.
  • Add olives and greens. When the greens become wilted, the dish is ready!

I would suggest a 2 cup serving. Based on the recipe in the book, this dish is 11 points plus. It is filling, fresh, and flavorful. I think you’ll love it!

One thought on “Healthy-ish Greek Pasta

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.