Recent Pinterest Recipes – a winner and a loser

Like any other married gal in her mid-20’s, I love browsing Pinterest. I’m all about those DIY home decor hacks, gorgeous area rugs, and… the recipes. Oh Lord, the recipes.

I try to practice self-control and only pin recipes that I truly think I will make at some point. Recently, I pinned a crock-pot recipe that was sure to please the hubby.

Pesto Ranch Crock Pot Chicken Thighs


I grabbed those photos from the original site. I linked each photo back to the recipe, too… for those of you not on Pinterest.

This recipe is as easy as it comes. Take all the ingredients you see in the first photo, and put them in a crock pot – with chicken broth – and boom, prep work done! Cook on high for 3-4 hours for low for 6-8 hours.

My husband and I really enjoyed this chicken! It was super flavorful from cooking in the pesto-ranch liquid and mighty tender.

I used Classico brand pesto, because it was the only pesto jar I could find at the grocery. Also, I bought a 6-pack of boneless skinless chicken thighs because there are only 2 of us. I did feel like the flavors were strong and maybe if I used more chicken thighs the flavors would be more balanced. That’s not really a complaint, just a side note 🙂

Another thing I value is easy cleanup. This couldn’t have been more simple. Pour out the liquid and wash the crock. Not a big deal. No stuck-on crusty messes or anything like that.

If you like Italian flavors, and are a fan of dark meat, give this a try!

Dixie Stampede Creamy Vegetable Soup

When I came across this on Pinterest, I may have become a little too excited. I love the Dixie Stampede and their food is top notch. I saw the show several times as a kid and always loved it. Now that I’m an adult, I don’t remember much about the show, but I do remember the food. Chicken, potato, corn, and the soup!! 

If you’re a super smart reader you read the title of this post and are now realizing that this recipe has to be the loser. You’re right. And, I’m still bummed about it.

I followed the recipe to a T. Sure, it was creamy. But, bland. Maybe my expectations were too high? Jeremy and I both seasoned our bowls with plenty of salt, but we agreed it wasn’t something we want to try again.

dixie stampede soup recipe

You can’t win ’em all, right?

 

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.