Random Chatter · Toddlerhood

Five on Friday | 4.7.17

Happy Friday, folks! I am SO happy that here in Missouri we have sunny skies and warm temps. It has been such a yucky past several days… rain, rain, rain. Surely these gloomy skies will pay off in May!

Image result for april showers

1. If you’re a sucker for kids in overalls…

Denim Shortalls - Union Wash

I was so excited when I saw these adorable Osh Kosh denim short overalls on the rack at TJ Maxx this week! I love the darker wash and am already picturing what tees I will pair these with. And, I just know Sammy will love the pockets. At $12.99 there was no way these weren’t coming home with me.

For my fellow overall-lovers, Osh Kosh is having a 50% OFF sale right now! Here’s the link to shop their site to find the perfect pair of overalls for your little.

2. a new favorite cookie recipe

I had a hankerin’ for homemade cookies the other day and did what anyone else would do and took to Pinterest to find something that was both easy to make and delicious.

I present to you: BROWN SUGAR COOKIES

  • 1 1/2 sticks of real butter (I never said they were healthy)
  • 1 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c mashed banana
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 c flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • White sugar for topping

Combine flour, soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and set aside.

Cream butter til soft then add brown sugar. When combined, add vanilla and banana. Beat on high for 1 minute

Gradually add dry ingredients. Mix til incorporated.

Roll into 1″ balls, and roll in white sugar, and place on ungreased cookie sheet. I use a silicone baking mat. Bake at 350 for 8-9 minutes. Rest for 3 minutes before moving them to cooling rack.

These cookies are seriously good, and Sammy approved. I mean, look at that pot belly! Oh, and now he knows what the KitchenAid is for and keeps pointing at it and saying “mmm!”. Needless to say we have made this recipe twice in a week. Yikes!

Displaying IMG_3468.JPG

How can I deny him cookies? Especially when he signs for “please”!

3. FREE prints!

Did I have you at “free”? Good.

Shutterfly is offering FREE prints on their app! Yes, FREE! This offer is good for 4×4 and 4×6 prints, and doesn’t even require entering one of their annoyingly long alpha-numeric codes.

There isn’t a momma I know that has a good handle on regularly printing iPhone photos, so this is your chance to get caught up.

I ordered 250+ prints, and only had to pay $22ish for shipping. What a deal!

Image result for shutterfly app

4. coconut oil + lavender oil lotion

Image result for lavender and coconut oil

I passed down the super-dry skin gene to my little boy, and we have tried for… well all 19 months of his life… to get it under control. You see, we’re really good about greasing him up with Aquaphor after bathtime, not changing bath soaps, using free & clear detergent for his clothes, and limiting how many baths he has a week to try to retain some kind of moisture in his skin.

Recently I purchase CeraVe baby bath + shampoo and am hoping that it makes a difference for Sammy’s skin after bathing. Also, I whipped up a batch of Lavender Coconut Oil Lotion, because why not? We had the ingredients (only 2 things!) and I am willing to try anything to keep from putting steroid cream on his young skin.

We are 1 week in, and I think it’s working. I have noticed less itching and his skin seems less bumpy overall. Time will tell! If you have any kind of home remedy or product recommendation for dry skin/mild eczema that is toddler-appropriate I am all ears. Shoot me an email at andreagraddy1@gmail.com.

I searched for Cetaphil for Babies and didn’t see it at the store. It is the next bath wash product on my list if the CeraVe is not effective.

The lavender oil sure makes him smell yummy, too!

5. finally feeling like spring!

Related image

I am SO ready to leave the office and head home to open the windows and let the fresh air in!

Oh, quick note, if you have little ones you have got to try my easy and cheap trick for baby-proofing your blinds!

safe blinds

Cheers..and Happy Weekend-ing to you!! XOXO

Linking up with other fantastic bloggers for Five on Friday

5

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

