Recipes

Five on Friday | 3.17.17

Image result for happy st. patrick's day image

Happy St. Patty’s Day! If you’re anything like me, you struggled to find anything green in your closet and are just using it as an excuse to eat unhealthy foods. Cheers!

I’ve had so many things I’ve wanted to blog about lately, but haven’t found the time.

A good old Five on Friday should do the trick…

1. A new favorite crock pot meal

beef stroganoff

If you would have told me, just 6 months ago, that I would be making this meal a couple times a month I would have laughed in your face. Beef Stroganoff has always sounded disgusting to me. First of all, Stroganoff is a weird word. And let’s face it… beef and noodles and sour cream sounds bad. Real bad.

Turns out, I was wrong.

It’s actually really good! I took my mom’s recipe, changed it a little… mostly because I misunderstood her directions. More on that later.

Crock-Pot Beef Stroganoff

Ingredients:

  • Beef Roast… whatever cut you desire. Aim for 2-3 lb. roast.
  • 2 Packets Beefy Onion Soup Mix. The dry stuff.
  • 1 Packet Au Jus Sauce/Gravy Mix
  • 2 T Worcestershire
  • 3 T Water

Stir together the mixes with the water and Worcestershire and pour it over the roast. Cook on low for 8 hours. Serve over your favorite egg noodles and dollop sour cream on top.

Why I love this recipe… When I get home from work I just have to boil noodles, and BOOM, dinner is ready.

2. running on empty

Image result for daylight savings time for moms

The start of DST + Funky weather + Hubby working long hours = MWM… an acronym for Mom with Migraines! Me and my head have had a rough week. I am so looking forward to the weekend, possibly getting a little more sleep, and the weather leveling out a little bit… fingers crossed.

3. hating everything in my closet…

Surely this happens to everyone, but I have a bad case of closet-hate happening right now. I did just buy this long cardi in “brown sugar” from Old Navy for only $19. I think it will cheer me up!

product photo

I also love this super long cardigan that is only $18!! Love this light oatmeal color for Spring!

product photo

4. fake tan recommendations?

With Spring being just around the corner (Monday!), I need to work on getting rid of this embarrassingly pale skin. I haven’t tanned in a tanning bed in years and have seriously considered doing so recently. However, I don’t know when I would go… can’t go after work because I have to pick up little man. I can never count on a time for my husband to be home from work… and the last thing I want to do when he gets home is to leave.

With that being said, I am looking for an affordable and bronze looking fake tan lotion product. Please help!

5. my sweet Sammy

And, what’s a blog post without a picture of my precious boy?! An 18-month update post is coming soon. In the meantime, look at that sweet smile. I have been so proud of Sam this week… he went #2 in his potty! Excited boy & parents!

bathtime

We’re headed down to “the farm” this weekend to play with the horses, mini donkey, goats, chickens, turkeys, dogs, Peppa the Pig, and whatever other animals we can get our hands on. More later!

 

XO

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

