Random Chatter

What’s Up Wednesday

Woo Hoo! My first What’s Up Wednesday post – linking with these (The Larson Lingo, Shaeffer Told Me To, and Mix & Match Mama). I saw this style post for the first time on The Slaughters.

I’ll be blogging about these things:

What we’re eating this week:

My grandma is still in town visiting, which means I’m scoring lots of free meals at my parent’s house and lots of eating out. My new chalkboard menu in the dining room has these meals listed: Mississippi Roast, Quinoa Chili Soup, Pork Roast with Sweet Potatoes & Broccoli as sides, Zucchini Beef Dish, and Spaghetti.

What I’m reminiscing about:

My sweet baby. Yesterday he turned 11 months old, so I watched some of the very early videos of him that I have on my phone. And I cried. In my car. sleeping love

What I’m loving:

Give me all the chocolate!!! Last week I hit up the local chocolate factory with the fam to take a tour, sample the goods (duh!), and buy some locally made and responsibly-produced chocolate. Let me tell you, this chocolate bar is life. According to the Askinosie Chocolate website, the A Beautiful Mess collab bar is described as “Rich, lightly refined dark chocolate with a light, cool crunch of mildly sweet coconut and sugar crystals, finishing with lingering notes of toffee and caramel.” And, the cocoa beans are sourced from Tanzania. Groovy!

Just buy it.

Local friends – Go for a tour if you never have. It’s $5 each Tuesday at 3:30 p.m.

What we’ve been up to:

Lots! And not a lot at the same time! We’ve entertained my family that came to visit from Ohio. That included the chocolate factory tour, a wine tasting, shopping, eating out… real tough! 😉

Jeremy’s been busy wrapping up an online knee course, writing a book review that he was asked to do, and trying to keep up with work.

What I’m dreading:

Part of me wants to blurt out, “SAMMY TURNING ONE!”, but I know it’s nothing to dread and nothing to be sad about. We will be celebrating our son who is healthy, smart, and so much fun!

What I’m working on:

How about, What I should be working on! Decorating and organizing our house. I did hang 2 new things on the walls within the past week, so that’s a win in my book. More progress was made in 10 minutes that I’ve made in several months. Ha!

If I had $500 I think I could make some serious progress when it comes to finishing our bedroom and living room/kitchen/dining area. I should start buying scratchers tickets more often 🙂

What I’m excited about:

5 Saturdays til college football kicks off!! Go Bucks!

What I’m watching/reading:

The only show I consistently watch is The Bachelorette. And if you’re a Bachelorette fan you should absolutely read these recaps. Hilarious! I think I would still find them funny even if I didn’t watch the show.

Also, the only thing I consistently read are blogs. Some of my faves that I keep up with on a daily basis are:

These are just a few blogs that I never miss a post!

What I’m listening to:

I am trying to get in the habit of turning the TV onto iHeartRadio on Saturday mornings and allowing us to go about our breakfast, playing, laundry, and whatever else with the sweet sounds of Cool Oldies in the background.

What I’m wearing:

Today I’m wearing this dress (similar) from Target. I really like the way this fits! I bought this without trying on, because with a baby in tow, the fitting room is a NO-WAY-IN-HELL ZONE. I picked up a medium and prayed it would be big enough. Happy Dance… it fits like a dream! Surprisingly it had enough room in the boobs without being too baggy in the waist hips. All in all, this is a post-baby body win!

What I’m doing this weekend:

Work event. Birthday party. Laundry. Snuggling my boys.

What I’m looking forward to next month: 

  • Back to School sales and the tax free holiday!
  • Hosting a casual pizza party for a bride-to-be
  • Throwing a fun 1st birthday party to celebrate our boy’s big day
  • Celebrating our FOURTH anniversary – how is that possible?!

What else is new:

Nothing much!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

