Random Chatter

Five on Friday

Ahhhh… it’s Friday, friends! It’s been a long week and I have been looking forward to this weekend for no other reason than having 2 days off work to spend at home with my boys. Last weekend we were in Arkansas for a graduation, so our house was a disaster but J & I managed to tag-team most cleaning tasks throughout the week. Minus the laundry – which I mentioned in yesterday’s post. Our plans for this weekend include snuggling, Mississippi Roast in the Crock-Pot, and hitting up Coffee Fest at Farmer’s Park!

Withoutfurther adieu, here’s a random FIVE!

1. Brownie Cookies (insert heart-eyes emoji)

Brownie Cookies are by far my favorite cookie recipe.You get delicious brownies packed into a bit size cookie coated in powdered sugar. What more could you ask for?:

These are seriously easy to make…

  • 1 box brownie mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • powdered sugar, for coating

Mix ingredients, form dough into balls and roll in powdered sugar.

Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.

I whipped these up at the beginning of the week and they didn’t last long. The BEST part is that they are ready so quickly. The unfortunate thing about make traditional brownies is waiting 45 minutes or so to be able to eat one!

I used Ghiradelli Double Chocolate Brownie Mix with chocolate chips. So good!

2. Loving this top

This shirt is everything. It’s $24.90 at Express and completely comfortable while being flattering. Buy it – you won’t regret it.

3. worth the splurge?

Recently, I tried a sample of 2 BB Creams in an attempt to find something easy and lightweight to wear in the summer. The products were the DiorSkin Nude BB Cream (in shade 001) and the Smashbox BB (in shade 01) – can you say pale?

The DiorSkin is GREAT. I love it! At $45 for a 1 oz. tube it would totally be a splurge for me.

Word on the street is that the Garnier BB cream is a dupe. I’m thinking about giving it a go to see how it compares.

I’ll report back…

4. there is nothing better than a chat with a good friend

Last night Sammy and I visited one of my childhood friends and her sweet new baby boy. I had forgotten how little and fragile-feeling my Sammy once was. In the meantime, Sam managed to crawl around her living room, tear a couple pages in her magazines, helped himself onto baby boy’s activity mat, and chewed on her couch. Normal 🙂

We shared boob-leaking-in-public stories, poopy diaper disasters, and husband aggravations. She is totally blessed and was able to quit her job and become a stay-at-home mommy. I’m completely jealous. She has frustrations with her husband for not helping at night and I can absolutely relate to her feeling distant and not connected to him. All I can tell her is that it does get better, it’s not easy, but communication is key, and setting expectations is important.

Do you have any words of advice I could share with her to help her through this tough time? Her little guy is very fussy at night at she is at her wit’s end and just needs help, reassurance, and rest.

5. Yay for graduates!

Here are a few photos from last weekend’s graduation ceremony… my sister-in-law graduated from Arkansas State University. She is considering moving to Fayetteville to further her new career in the broadcasting world.

What’s the key to getting an 8-month old to sit through a 2 hour long graduation ceremony? BOOKS!!! So many books!!!

grad1

grad2

grad3

I hope you have the best weekend. Spend time with the ones you love – and if you can’t do that – tell someone you love them!

XO

 

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

