Family · Random Chatter · Weekend in Photos

Weekend in Photos: Family Festivities + Baby’s First Easter 

It’s Sunday night and I am snuggled in bed next to a sweet 7 month old boy. We have had a super busy week and weekend and I could not be more proud of how our Sammy has gone right along with our busy plans and acted like an angel! 

My grandparents are in town from Florida, so many of our evenings this week were spent at my parents’ house, where they stayed. They have since gone on to my aunt and uncles’ place- about 45 minutes or so from here to stay for the next few days. 

Jeremy and I think it is so important to let Sammy spend as much time as possible with his great-grandparents. He is blessed to have three! My dad’s parents live in central Florida and are planning to move here (so exciting!) and my mom’s mother lives in the Dayton, Ohio area. We will be going to visit there next week. Sammy is getting great-grandparent overload. Love it!

Back to our weekend… We started with a birthday celebration for my first cousin Caden. He turned the big 10 on Thursday! The family celebrated at a sports bar/restaurant here in town. We pigged out on burgers and fried green beans! Yum! 

  

Chocolate cake with grandma’s homemade icing!

 

Sammy was not so sure about cousin Layla and her headband. 

We worked on Good Friday, but we were lucky that Jeremy got home at a good time. Sammy had beets for the first time. What a mess!

  He wasn’t crazy about them- but tolerated a few bites to please momma. Blowing raspberries with a mouth full of beets is a thing now… Sigh…

  Look at this face. What a ham!

Friday & Saturday we hung around the house since we had constantly been on the go. Jeremy and my brother Beau went to the furniture distribution center to pick up our new bed and spent the majority of the day putting it together. Then we headed to my parents for a family cookout. 

  

  Playing with Carson! I got my exercise for the day. 

We headed home early in order to get Sammy bathed and to bed at normal time. 

Here are photos from Sunday and our boy’s first Easter! We opted to go to my parent’s church instead of ours because it’s closer and the time of the service fit better with Sam’s schedule. 

  

  

  

He was a doll baby at church. Even got a shout out from the pastor! It was exhausting being so cute in his sweater. More photos of the outfit later!

We came home to change clothes and then went to my parents to spend more time with my grandparents – and enjoy a delicious Easter meal. 

   
 The Easter bunny treated Sammy so well. At our house, the bunny brought Burts Bees jammies, a new book, a Melissa & Doug chunky wooden farm puzzle, and a wooden shaped block sorter by the same brand. Believe it or not, the bunny stopped by my parents too! There he left socks, a onesie, a Thomas the Train bath toy, and a shopping cart/high chair cover. 

What a thoughtful bunny!

Tonight at home, we’ve been doing laundry, dishes, and washing bottles. I put butternut squash and half a beet (always autocorrects to beer) in the BabyBrezza machine. I did this after his dinner, but I let him sample it before spooning the purée into an ice cube tray to freeze. He loved it! I’m thrilled because he was not wild about plain steamed beets.

  
  
The tulips I bought on Wednesday are simply beautiful. The perfect red-orange color! 

(This photo perfectly sums up our kitchen most days… Dirty crock pot insert because we are constantly using it, bottles drying on our Boon grass, baby food steaming…)

With all that being said, we are so incredibly blessed. We live such a fulfilled life, surrounded by so many people that love us. 

Life is good! He is Risen!

XO

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

