Beauty · Products

Five on Friday – For the Face

It’s FRI-YAY! This week has gone by surprisingly fast and I’m looking forward to a weekend with NO plans. Count ’em… zero! Not even Super Bowl plans! I like it that way.

Toward the end of last week, our little guy was hit with a stomach virus and I took a day off work to care for my baby. I loved every second of it. We snuggled, played, rested… it was perfect. On Saturday I managed to sneak out of the house for a couple hours to have my hair cut and colored and Sammy felt well enough to go to his grandparents so hubby and I could go on a dinner date. We had an early dinner at a local Italian restaurant and treated ourselves to an appetizer and wine. It was nice to talk, laugh, and relax… and shop for work shoes at JCP. #romantic We picked up little guy and got him as close as we could to his normal bedtime. At 10:30 p.m. the evil virus struck me and had me down for the next day. Man oh man, it was rough!

I fought through it and went to work Monday morning and have had a very productive week!


 

Let’s talk about this week’s Five on Friday, the Face edition. I’ve made a few new purchases (some unusual ones) for skincare/makeup lately and have a fave worth mentioning.

1. cleanser & make up remover

neutrogena fresh

This stuff is the bomb.com. My hands-down favorite cleanser to wash off my makeup each night before bed. Yes, even mascara and eyeliner! It has a creamy lather and takes off the fullest face of makeup with minimal work. I squirt half a pump into my wet hands and rub it onto my face and all my makeup comes right off. Does it sound too good  to be true?

Many cleansers leave my skin feeling tight and raw. Not this stuff! I do apply a moisturizer after using this stuff, but I am not in a rush to do so. (I’ve used some products that left my skin feeling so tight and dry that I couldn’t put on moisturizer fast enough!).

At $6ish bucks, this is a total bargain and something I will (and do) continue to repurchase.

2. yes, this is aftershave and yes, I put it on my face

I’m not crazy, I promise.

And no, I’m not shaving my face.

One of my besties works for Sephora and as you would expect, has an intense love of all-things-makeup. When she told me that she was wearing Nivea Aftershave as primer I could not believe her! Her skin looked greatly and she swore by the staying power.

So, next time I was at Walmart I searched the men’s shaving products for this little gem. It was about $6 so I thought, eh, if I hate it maybe Jeremy will like it.

Well, I love it. A pea to penny sized amount, rubbed into my palms and then evenly across my face is a god-send. This product keeps my makeup “stuck” to my face all day long. There is a man smell that comes along with it, but fades away after a minute or so. It’s nothing your coworkers will catch a whiff of.

It feels slightly tacky on the skin about 2 minutes after application. I apply my liquid concealer, liquid foundation, and then a little bit of powder and I am set for the day.

Try it. Trust me.

3. I never knew dark circles til I had a baby

I’ve always had dark circles, or rather dark pigmentation under my eyes, no matter how much sleep I get. However, since becoming a mother I can tell that they are only darker. No surprise there!

As far as concealer goes, I’ve been a fan of the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind concealer for the past couple of years. It is affordable, easy to use, blends like a dream and doesn’t crease under the eye. Recently, I couldn’t find my shade at Walmart so I went searching for another brand,

I remembered reading rave reviews about Hard Candy Glamoflauge concealer one of my favorite blogs and decided to give it a shot.

I’ve been wearing it in the shade ‘light’ and have been really happy with the results! It reminds me of the Kat Von D tattoo concealer I used to wear in college… when I thought my dark circles were a big deal 🙂

{I am now realizing I only have 3 face products to talk about… so… I’ll make an obvious transition from dark circles to coffee…}

4. liquid cinnamon rolls, please

Still haven’t fixed the damn Keurig, but my MIL is kind enough to prep their Keurig for me when I drop off Sammy in the mornings. I’ve been bringing along my travel mug and creamer and pouring in this absolutely delicious Cinnamon Roll flavored coffee. It’s one of those things that smells just as yummy as it tastes… mmm!

5. bachelor obsessed

How can you NOT be? My final 3: Lauren B., Jo Jo, Caila with Lauren B. as the winner!

After last Monday’s “to be continued”, I think Ben will warn Olivia to settle the heck down and will let her keep her rose. But, I don’t think she will be around much longer. I would love to hear your predictions!

…Oh, and thank goodness he sent Jubes packin’!

 

Happy Weekend!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

