Random Chatter

A little of this, a little of that

Wednesday – half way to Saturday as I like to call it. I’m trying my best to put my nose to the grindstone and get through this week. My eye is on the prize – a hair appointment and a dinner date with the hubs on Saturday. Just gotta keep grinding through the week.

I haven’t blogged in a week or two, but life has been pretty steady – nothing too exciting or wild to post about. Here’s a collection of what’s on my mind this morning…

Sammy had a good night last night

And, praise Jesus he did because I wasn’t sure if I could handle another night of restless baby sleep.

I really don’t have it bad. And, I know it. Little Samuel has always known when it is nighttime and has been an excellent sleeper in his bassinet in our room. The past 2 weeks have been trying – and for us that means waking up more than once a night to eat or to be held. He doesn’t cry uncontrollably and isn’t difficult to please. I know I don’t have it bad. Waking up more than once isn’t normal for him and the rude interruption of our routine has not been a welcome change for this working momma.

Last night my little guy nursed to sleep and was out by 8:30 p.m. (which is normal), was in his bassinet at 9:00 p.m., woke to nurse at 1-ish, and was back in the bassinet and asleep by 1:45 a.m., then woke to nurse at 5:00 a.m. This is our old normal and I loved having a few consecutive hours of deep sleep last night.

We are working on putting him in his crib here and there to slowly transition him from the bassinet to crib. More on that later.

Working like a dog

My poor, poor husband. He works so hard. The long hours he has been putting in the last 2 weeks are so hard on all 3 of us. Patients at 7 a.m., and 5:30 p.m. or even 6 p.m. Rough. By the time he gets home he practically has no time to play with Sammy – and neither of them like it. I’m saying a prayer that these early morning and evening patients get discharged soon so I see more of my man at home.

I miss him, spending time with him, and having his help. I have no idea how single moms do it.

Our dinner date this weekend was his idea and I simply cannot wait. I already decided that I will be stuffing myself with carbs and drinking 2 glasses of wine and doing the “pump ‘n’ dump” for the first time. I’m strangely excited!

Maybe I’ll take some photos and put together a Weekend in Photos post, because it’s been forever.

Home decor project

I have a large statement mirror with a quatrefoil-design black metal frame that I have been hesitant to integrate into our (non-existent) living room decor. While browsing Pinterest I came across this tutorial for DIY mercury glass. The instructions are for applying the spray paint & water technique to glass, but I totally think I can do it with my metal framed mirror! I can’t wait to give this a shot. There are warmer temps in our forecast, so I’m hoping I can get outside and do a little DIY!

Metallic Mercury Glass Candle Votives

All Bieber all the time

We are loving the new Bieber album in our house! We can’t be the only ones, right? Although I think my favorite song right now is “Perfect”

A Spankin’ good deal

Cheesy, I know. But Spanx leggings are one of the Daily Deals on Zulily today!

Here’s my referral link if you aren’t already on Zulily!

http://www.zulily.com/p/black-ready-to-wow-structured-leggings-171481-29987639.html?ext_id=32RJHWQVMHWQ&map_id=1&deliverable=

 

I should get back to work. Happy Hump Day!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

