Baby · Family

Samuel Hayes | 2 Months Old

(I typed this over a month ago… Just now getting to add the photos and publish.)

And just like that, our little love is 2 months old. Where has the time gone? He is such a little blessing and I can’t exactly remember what life was like before him, and even before pregnancy. It must have been awfully boring. Sammy is our world!

IMG_1647

samuel hayes – 2 months old

Height/Length: 25″, putting him above the 99th percentile

Weight: 13 pounds 10 ounces, putting him in the 80th percentile

Diapers: Still struggling in the blowout department. I can bet on cleaning up a poopy mess each time we leave the house. Lets just say I’m getting good at changing the boy in my lap, in the back seat, and basically anywhere other than the restroom changing table. I wasn’t a germ freak, but…. motherhood has made me one. Lysol and Clorox Wipes should pay me to be a spokeswoman for their products.

This month we tried Huggies Snug n’ Dry and Huggies Lil Snugglers (both size 1). We DO NOT like either of them. Both smell like urine immediately after he goes. And, they do not keep the poop in when he is sitting on my lap or in his car seat. I have a couple days worth of Lil Snugglers left in his drawer and I can’t wait til we are done with those.

I bought a small package of Luvs in a size 2 today to give those a shot. So far they seem to fit well. I noticed that they do not have a wetness indicator, but at this point he saturates a diaper and you can tell when the diaper is wet vs. dry. They seem thin and not very soft. I hope they don’t irritate his little booty.

Clothes: He is wearing 3 month, 3-6, and 6 month clothes. Most of the 3 month stuff seems a little tight and the 6 month stuff seems a tad big. He definitely needed to be in 6 month sleepers when he hit the 8 week mark. This boy is long! Note: I’m searching for extenders to snap into the onesies that fit everywhere except in length. Where do I buy those? Help!

Eating: Breastfeeding is going SO well and I am grateful. Our hungry boy feeds on demand every 1 to 3 hours when he is awake, and eats for at least 10 minutes at a time. I let him graze and fall asleep most of the time, however when I burp him and we change positions he will wake up.

At 5 1/2 weeks we introduced a bottle for 2 reasons… so  I could get a little time away from baby if needed and because I am going back to work at the beginning of November. We chose Tommee Tippee bottles and he takes them well. Daddy gives him a bottle each evening. The most he has eaten is 5 oz. Hungry, hungry, hippo!

I am worried about maintaining a pumping schedule when I go back to work. I have got to stick to it, and I’ve got to keep my calories up. It will take work to pump, clean pump parts, and store milk when returning to my always busy job that has been deserted for the past 2 months. Yikes!

I am passionate about breastfeeding and making it work. We can do it.

Sleeping: At his 2 month check up with his pediatrician we received the go-ahead to let the sleeping boy sleep. No more setting alarms for this momma! On his first 2 nights of “free sleep” he had a 5 hour stretch, then on the third night a 7 hour stretch. Keep it up little one.

He is still sleeping in his bassinet in our bedroom. He can just stay right there forever and I’ll be happy!

Loves: Silly faces, ceiling fans, daddy’s singing, TV (specifically football and baseball games), bath time

Doesn’t like: Getting too hungry without attention (AKA feed me now!), being overstimulated, having his hair towel-dried after bath

Movement: Lots of rolling over from tummy to back! He loves to stretch, grasp things, noticing his hands, tracking with his eyes, and standing when held. He is great at holding his head up and looking around like a curious gopher. He likes to sit on my lap, too.

Personality: Smiles started around 5 weeks and they have just gotten bigger and bigger. He is just too cute! He coos and grunts, especially in the mornings. He loves his mom and dad and certainly knows us apart from other people. We noticed him picking us out from a crowd in a busy room when he was held by a family member.

Fun things we did this month: Took a road trip to Arkansas for his first wedding, met all of his great-grandparents, met great aunts and uncles, spent his first few hours away from momma (I’m sure it was fun for him, not me!)

Here are more photos of our sweet guy…

IMG_1627

IMG_1620

IMG_1635

IMG_1602

We love you, Sammy!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

