Baby

Week 39 Pregnancy Journal

39 weeks

39 weeks & 4 days in the photo

How far along? 39 weeks & 4 days – 3 days to go! Seriously… my due date is in 3 days. Whoa.

Size of baby: A watermelon. And, I look like I have one hiding under my shirt! According to The Bump, baby is 18.9-20.9″ long and weighs 6.2-9.2 lbs. Quite the wide range!

Last Friday’s ultrasound estimated his weight at 7 lbs. 3 oz. (give or take a pound) and I am still betting on a 8-ish pound baby. There is a “Guess The Baby’s Weight” pool going on at work and I’m locked in at 7 lbs. 7 oz. Some of my co-workers guessed above 9 pounds – rude!! 🙂

Weight gain: +39 as of today’s appointment. That puts me +1 since last week’s appointment.

Doctor Appointment Recap: It was rather uneventful. Little guy’s heart rate was steady at 162 bpm and is just hanging out down there. My blood pressure looked good again (110/74), but I did have a trace of protein in my urine. The nurse mentioned it, but the doctor didn’t say a thing. 

My doctor checked me and said that my cervix was still hard to reach and maybe my full bladder was getting in the way. She decided I hadn’t done anything since my appointment on Friday, meaning I’m still dilated 1.5 cm and effaced/thinned 80%.

She had originally said that we would make a plan at this appointment if I hadn’t had a baby by today. But, with no progress she decided that she wants to see me next week (either on Tuesday or Wednesday) and at that point we would make a plan for delivery. She told me it is common for first time moms to be slow dilating and that she likes to give the body time to go into labor on its own. Preach it sister- that’s what I say too!

Nursery: Done! Last night we finished hanging things on the walls, put on the crib mattress cover, and picked up all of our hardware/drills/screws that we had laying around. I need to give the room a good vacuum and organize a couple bins in the closet and it will be ready for photos.

It makes me happy to walk by and see it looking so organized and simple.

Symptoms: I think I’m finally starting to slow down. Everything I do is much slower than it was just a week or two ago. I’m walking slower, getting up slower, bending over slower…

My feet are starting to hurt and swell easier than they have over the past 2 weeks and the skin on my belly is so sensitive. I don’t like it being touched a whole lot, not even rubbing against the counter when I’m cooking or my desk as I’m at my computer. It’s the strangest sensation – or lack of sensation – hard to describe.

Movement/Position: Still head down of course. His movements have changed over the past week or week and a half. He’s not giving me those violent kicks anymore. I’m feeling him shift from the left to right and that’s about it. Oh, besides putting pressure on my hips and bladder when he feels like it.

Sleep: My sleep patterns have become very inconsistent. Some nights I get up once, others I get up 3-4 times. I’m not waking just because I have to go to the bathroom… hip pains, leg numbness, and sore knuckles have been waking me up these days.

Cravings/Aversions: Water. Can that be a craving? Ice cold water!

What I miss: Nothing. Ready to meet this sweet baby boy!

Things people have said to me this week:
Man in the waiting room at work: You look like you might explode.
Me: Well, I suppose I could any day now.
Man: (Huffs loudly) I sure hope I’m not around for that. No way.

I hope you’re not around either, dude.

Looking forward to:

  • Being home. Really looking forward to maternity leave and snuggling my boy all the time!!
  • Some of the frozen meals that I’ve mentally prepared. Key word being mentally. (Mmmm, lasagna!)
  • CONTRACTIONS.
What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

