Baby

Week 37 Pregnancy Journal

37 weeks

Look at that swollen face! In my defense it was about 7 a.m. and I failed to have my eyebrows on or any lip gloss on before the photo.

37 weeks & 3 days in the photo

How far along? 37 weeks & 5 days – 16 days to go! (Which is CRAZZZYYYYYYY)

Size of baby: A winter melon… I won’t pretend to know what that is. At 37 weeks development, normal babies can range from 6.2 to 9.2 lbs, and up to 20″ long.

At this point, Jeremy thinks Samuel will be in the 7 lb. range and I’m thinking 7 lbs. 7 oz.

Weight gain: +37 as of today… but it was after lunch and I had pizza, salad, and cake. Almost all my appointments have been in the morning thus far.

Doctor Appointment Recap: I’m excited to report we had another great check up with the doctor. All my numbers are looking good and are in line. My Group B Strep Test from last week came back negative. (If I was positive, I would have been administered an IV antibiotic during labor.) She measured me and I forgot to look at the screen to see what the actual number was. I had my first cervical check and learned that I am dilated 1 centimeter and 70% effaced/thinned. Surprising, since I expected nothing! I have yet to have contractions or any intense pressure down below – other than a baby on my bladder.

Next Friday we will go back for an ultrasound to check his size. I’m super excited because I thought we were done with those! Yay for another look at little Sam. Following the ultrasound I will see the doctor and be checked again.

Nursery: We still haven’t hung up the wall decor or the curtains, but we are ready to do that! Possibly tonight. 

Movement/Position: This boy is everywhere all the time. Sometimes I can feel both hands and both feet at the same time. All movements are fairly small, as he doesn’t have much room to work with at this point. As of this week, I am feeling him down in my pelvis. Sometimes when he moves I can feel an ache in my bones. Is it possible to literally feel your hips spreading apart? Doctor said he has dropped and his head is in the public bone, but not so far that we would give him a “stage”.

Check out this fun progress picture from 17, 27, and 37 weeks!

progression 17-27-37

Symptoms: Overall, I’m feeling the effects of 37 weeks of pregnancy. I’m tired, having difficulty breathing, uncomfortable, but in good spirits most of the time. My swelling has improved, but I have been spending more time at my desk than usual.

Sleep: I think my good luck has run out. After lots of sleep this weekend (naps and long overnight hours), I have struggled with sleep Monday and Tuesday, getting up 2-3 times a night, which is okay since I’ve been lucky to have been a one-time-a-night kind of gal this pregnancy. Overall, I think I’m just uncomfortable. I’m using a lightweight blanket rolled up under my belly to help battle the pull of gravity on the big belly.

But then, the surprise of the century! Jeremy came home with the Boppy Total Body Pillow on Tuesday and Tuesday night’s sleep was definitely improved. I didn’t struggle as much with breathing and woke up once. This pillow contraption will also be helpful after Sam is born.

Last night (Wednesday), I only woke up once and felt comfortable sleeping with the Boppy Body Pillow and nothing else.

Cravings/Aversions: Not very hungry and nothing sounds too delicious. I’ve noticed that when I get too hungry I don’t feel so hot. I’m back to keeping crackers in my desk at work.

What I miss: Wearing my wedding rings.

Things people have said to me this week:
Someone says something every where I go these days. There isn’t a cashier that hasn’t made a comment about my belly, the baby, or the heat! Even men! It makes me laugh. My work contacts at doctor offices are super sweet and are giving me lots of tips and decent advice.

One lady in line at Dollar General asked when I was due and said she had a daughter due within a couple days of little Sammy. I told her I was buying a pool floatie and that’s what I planned to do with my day. She was talking about how she was trying to get her daughter to go to the lake with them and I wanted to add my 2 cents, but I didn’t want to be that person. I really wanted to say that her daughter is smart to stay away from the lake because if there is any chance she could be dilated, she would be inviting bacteria to the party by getting in the lake. Hellooooo!!

Looking forward to:   Things we need to do ASAP:  Things we still haven’t done: What I have accomplished (Go Me!):

  • Installed the car seat. Thank goodness for my car’s LATCH system! We chose the Britax B-Safe 35 and it installed like a breeze. It’s pretty surreal driving around with a car seat in the back seat.
  • Packed our own hospital bags! Everything is set, minus our chargers and iPad and other daily use kind of things. I’ll also need to throw in a going home outfit for us at some point, but let’s face it… I don’t have a lot of options for clothes that fit these days.
  • Ordered the bassinet. Oh, hey Target! You never notified me that the item was back in stock. Thanks for nothing… I checked myself.

Just now finding my blog? Catch up on my previous posts below.:

Third Trimester: 35 weeks, 34 weeks, 33 weeks, 32 weeks, 31 weeks, 30 weeks, 29 weeks

Second Trimester: 28 weeks, 27 weeks, 26 weeks, 25 weeks, 24 weeks, 23 weeks, It’s a…?21 weeks

 

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

