Baby

Week 36 Pregnancy Journal

36 weeks

 

Sticking out pretty good, huh?

How far along? 36 weeks & 4 days – 24 days to go! 

Size of baby: According to The Bump, we’re still 17.2-18.7 inches long, weighing 4.2-5.8 pounds, about the size of a honeydew melon. BabyCenter says he is as long as a head of Romaine lettuce.

Weight gain: +3 since my last appointment 2.5 weeks ago for a grand total of +33 lbs.

Doctor Appointment Recap: No news! I am measuring right where I should (37 cm this time) and all my numbers are looking good. BP is good, weight gain is good, Sam’s heart rate (166 today!). Because all of my stats are looking good and my urine is protein-free, she isn’t concerned about the swelling in my feet and is chalking it up to a late pregnancy symptom. Today I received the lovely Group B Strep test. It really wasn’t that bad. I was more nervous about the cervical exam, which didn’t happen. My doc says that since it is pretty early still and I have had no cramping, contractions, or bleeding the chances of me being dilated or effaced much are slim. She wanted to spare me the unpleasant pain and wait. Jeremy asked how long she would wait before checking me and she said that by 37.5 to 38 weeks she would want to go ahead and check me even if I hadn’t had any symptoms. My next appointment is at 37 weeks, 5 days so I do expect her to do the check then. I suppose we’ll see if anything changes between now and next Thursday!

Nursery: Once we hang the shelves and pictures up on the wall it will be complete! Oh, and after the curtains are done. My mom is working on that. The crib sheet I ordered from Land of Nod is on back order til mid-August, but we have a back up that will do until it arrives. I love, love, love Sam’s room! Photos to come.

Movement/Position: Still moving around like a little wiggle worm. We learned in our childbirth class that food travels through the umbilical cord at a speed of 4 mph! No wonder he starts moving around almost immediately as I start eating. His movements are very visible from the outside and you can certainly tell if we he favoring one side over the other. Lopsided belly for sure! He’s doing more slithering than anything, but oh man, some of his movements are powerful.

Symptoms: Overall, I’m feeling good and rather normal. A little more tired. Feet are still swelling every day. Stretch marks are serious and my belly button is a shallow crater – We’re wondering if it will ever go flat?

I’m trying to limit my waddling. It’s hard and I don’t notice myself doing it, but when I catch myself I try to stand up straight and walk normally.

Sleep: Continuing to wake up 1-2 times a night to use the bathroom, but nothing else keeps me awake. Trying to get as many zzz’s as I can over the next 3-4 weeks! I know I am very fortunate to not be sleep-deprived… yet 🙂

Cravings/Aversions: Nothing in particular, but I am finding myself hungry and thirsty most of the time. Fruit is tasting delicious as always.

Oh, I did eat a lot of muffins this week. That was probably a craving!

What I miss: Wearing normal clothes. I spent some time browsing for clothes on Express.com that have come out for fall. I’m anxious to see how long it will take me to get down to my pre-pregnancy clothes and how things fit differently. It’s nothing I am stressing over, that’s for sure.

Things people have said to me this week:
My grandma showed a photo of me to another lady at church. She said:  Oooohhh are you sure it isn’t twins?!

Back off lady that I don’t even know. And, the last picture my grandma had was from 33 weeks. That 33 week bump has nothing on this!

Looking forward to:   Things we need to do ASAP:  Things we still haven’t done:

  • Installed the car seat. In all seriousness, I am going to get the car washed and vacuumed after work today (no way in hell this huge belly is going to do that, and hubby is too busy) so that I can install the car seat as soon as I get home. It’s really easy, we watched youtube vids.
  • Packed our own hospital bags. Baby’s bag is packed and ready to rock. Ours… not so much. I need to go to Walmart and stock up on giant pads, witch hazel, travel sized toiletries, an extra toothbrush, etc. so that we are ready to roll when the time comes.
  • Ordered the bassinet. Well, I tried and it’s out of stock at Target. I’ll be anxiously awaiting an email saying it’s in stock so I can add that sucker to my cart.

Just now finding my blog? Catch up on my previous posts here:

Third Trimester: 35 weeks, 34 weeks, 33 weeks, 32 weeks, 31 weeks, 30 weeks, 29 weeks

Second Trimester: 28 weeks, 27 weeks, 26 weeks, 25 weeks, 24 weeks, 23 weeks, It’s a…?21 weeks

Oh, and be sure to check out my 9 Tips for 9 Months post that went live last week!

 

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

