Baby

Week 33 Pregnancy Journal

33 weeks
Photo taken at 33 weeks & 3 days

How far along? 33 weeks & 6 days, 43 days to go (WHAAATTT??) til my due date on 8/22/15

This week we attended our first “baby class” at the hospital. It was a safety class called BabySense. It covered car seat installation and safety, safe bathing, medications, SIDS/suffocation, safe sleeping, etc. It was very informative and a little bit terrifying.

Size of baby: According to Baby Center, Sam now weighs as much as a pineapple at just over 4 pounds. Wow! The Bump says he could weigh up to 5.8 pounds and may be as long as 18.7 inches. I think he’s going to be a long baby and weigh somewhere around 8 lbs. That’s my gut feeling.

Weight gain: +30 lbs. as of today’s doctor’s appointment. With (essentially) 6 weeks left, I feel good about that number!

Nursery: The crib has been set up, which was fairly easy to do and I love it. My parents are working on refinishing the dresser. It’s been so rainy here that they haven’t worked on it much because they were afraid the paint would never dry! I’m looking forward to getting it into the room and hanging a few things I’ve already purchased. I did one load of baby laundry… and then ran out of hangers! So, as soon as I have more hangers and the dresser to store the clean clothes in I will be a laundry machine.

Movement/Position: He is really wiggly! Moving that booty, and legs/feet all the time. His most active periods are right when I get up in the morning, around 6:15am. Then, throughout the morning here and there. He goes nuts after lunch and parts of the afternoon. He’s been having a wild time in the evenings this week as well. His movements can be seen if you just watch my belly. Pretty cool, weird, and amazing all at the same time.

He’s loving to snuggle up on my bladder, too.

Symptoms: Swelling has been a problem off and on this week. I’m still focusing on decreasing my salt/processed foods intake and elevating & icing my feet in the evenings and when I’m sitting at my desk for long periods of time.

I’ve noticed joint pain in the lower half of my body. When I wake up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it feels like I’m dealing with an 80 year old’s hips, knees, and ankles.

As far as stretch marks go, let’s just say I am earning my stripes 🙂 I’m not too worried about them. They are mostly below my belly button and aren’t very dark. My esthetician friend says she can work on them and they won’t be a big deal.

Sleep: This week I’ve (thankfully) been getting up at 2:30 pm and that’s it!!! Pretty proud of all the sleep I’ve been getting. Still no problems falling/staying asleep.

Cravings/Aversions: I’ve enjoyed a few Rice Krispie treats this week and have been resisting the temptation of frozen custard. Still no aversions, thank goodness!

What I miss: Not much! Doing my best to soak up the last few weeks of being pregnant. That sounds weird.

Doctor Appointment Recap: Little man’s heartbeat was 144 and everything is right on track. I am measuring exactly where I should. The fetal heart rate, my blood pressure, and my weight are all looking good. My doc noticed my ankle/foot swelling had gotten better since my last visit and didn’t seem concerned at all.

At my next appointment (in 2.5 weeks) we will talk about labor signs and then I will be going weekly after that. Wow!

Things people have said to me this week:
Lady at a Chamber meeting: How many weeks are you?
Me: 33
Lady: Well you certainly don’t look that big

I’ll take it! 🙂

Looking forward to:

  • Our next baby class, which won’t happen for another couple of weeks. It is the all day long childbirth class. Yikes! Can’t even wait!
  • Unpacking more of our belongings and making our mess of a new house feel more homey. The furniture we ordered should be coming in by next weekend. I can’t wait to sprawl out on our new couch! The rocker recliner probably won’t get here til after Sam is born, but that’s okay.
  • Buying the rest of the necessary items on our registry.
  • More baby laundry! Miniature hangers are the cutest.
  • Packing a hospital bag… wait, when do I do that?
5 thoughts on “Week 33 Pregnancy Journal

  1. I’m a planner so I packed around 32 weeks. Never too early. Don’t pack diapers, take them from
    The hospital. Try to find onesies that zip up or snap across the chest. Babies hate stuff being pulled over their heads.

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

