Baby

Week 28 Pregnancy Journal

28 weeks

How far along? Hello 3rd Trimester! 28 weeks & 4 days, 80 days to go til my due date on 8/22/15 — 3 months left!

Size of baby: An eggplant. According to Babycenter, Sam is weighing in at over 2 pounds and measuring 14.8 inches from head to heels. At this point, babies’ weight and length can begin to vary quite a bit from baby to baby.

Weight gain: +20 lbs. as of 27 weeks. The Bump says I can expect to gain 11 pounds from here on out. That doesn’t seem like it gives me a lot of room to gain, especially if baby is going to be gaining about 4 pounds (at least).

Nursery: Freaking out a little bit about not being in our house and not being able to stand in our little boy’s room and figure out where I’ll want the crib, dresser, etc. I just want to be able to sit in there and sniff diapers!!

Movement: Still moving around like a little wiggle worm. I had a stomach ache this weekend (from eating a DQ Blizzard- oops!) and his movements on top of the already bad stomach problem made me incredibly nauseated.

Symptoms: I’m feeling more forgetful and more out of breath every day. Adjusting positions in the middle of the night is a chore! Having some calf cramps here and there, too. I’m happy to report that any swelling I’ve had has been so minor that I’m not sure if it’s swelling or just too much salty food. Still stretch-mark free and using Vitamin E oil like crazy after showers and before bed.

Weddings rings are now off. I’m sad about that, but my little sausage fingers were starting to itch near my rings because they were feeling tight. It wasn’t an everyday thing, but I do know that it’s downhill from here in the swelling and water retention department.

My innie belly button is still an innie, although it is more shallow all the time. I’m wondering how many more weeks until it flattens out.

Because I never heard from my OB office on Friday and “no news was good news” in terms of the glucose test, I suppose I can be considered good to go!

Sleep: Getting harder all the time and potty breaks are much more frequent. I’m talking every 2 hours last night – yikes! Thank goodness I was able to fall right asleep. I’m grateful for no weird or bizarre dreams. I’m just not much of a dreamer!

Cravings/Aversions: Cheese sounds pretty tasty these days. And carbs.

What I miss: Chardonnay.

Things people have said to me this week: I’m happy to report that strangers have been nice to me this week! Three different strangers gave me a compliment yesterday – it made me a happy momma bear!

Looking forward to: Going to the doctor next week, my baby shower later this month, closing on and moving into our new house, setting up the nursery, and having this baby!

6 thoughts on “Week 28 Pregnancy Journal

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

