Marriage

Headache, Hives, & Home-Buying

The three H’s… headache, hives, and home-buying… 3 things currently on my mind and (apparently) worthy of their own blog post.

Why do I have a headache right now? Since becoming pregnant, the frequency and intensity of my headaches has totally calmed. I’ve developed quite a winner while at work this morning and it certainly isn’t helping my mood.

I regret skipping coffee this morning, but told myself I was going to be much better about my coffee habit this week since last week was OUT OF CONTROL. I think I can get through this one without it… but where’s my Tylenol?

In a stroke of genius, I decided to change up my belly-moisturizing routine just for the hell of it. Total mistake. I had been using Vitamin E oil and it seemed to be working nicely. No complaints. For whatever reason, I decided to try something new when I ran out.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Tummy Butter was my choice. I had used it for several days and have been happy with it, but noticed myself being extremely itchy on Saturday. For the better part of the day I blamed it on being outside, allergens in the air, blah blah blah. Called the OB nursing line Saturday evening when I was scratching myself to death and was told to take Benadryl or use Benadryl cream.

After a very deep sleep Saturday night with a dry belly (I eliminated all products from my nighttime routine in hopes of calming the hives) and woke up feeling pretty good and much less blotchy  Sunday morning. Got ready for church, greased up my belly with the butter, and out we went. Over the course of the day, the hives returned with full red-blotchy vengeance.

I can’t believe it, but I am surely allergic to this Tummy Butter. Ugh… I hope my child doesn’t inherit my sensitive skin!

The home-buying process is going well, I suppose. We’re under contract on a house that is under construction and will be finished in June. There isn’t much for us to do between now and then besides save our money for closing costs.

I’m not a worrier by nature (yet… I’m sure I will change after baby is born), but I am a financial forecaster. I think I made up that word. I take care paying our bills and am always thinking ahead. Having a savings goal that we must meet before closing is stressful. I am so thankful to be living with my parents for the next several weeks while the house is finished, which is allowing us to not pay rent, utilities, cable/internet, etc… but it is still hard.

Maybe I’m just worried about that $429 travel system we registered for at Babies R Us?

Maybe, just maybe, I’m over-thinking things and making my headache, hives, and the home-buying process even worse. 🙂

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

