Recipes

a random collection of thoughts

I’m sitting down, eating dinner solo (hubby on his way home from a work training trip to Kansas), and thought it would be a good time to update the good old blog with a few random thoughts. That’s what a personal blog is for after all, right?

A storm has been building since I’ve been home from work and I think the worst part has finally passed. I stepped out on the deck to snap a panoramic photo of the sky.  I wish I would have done it a few minutes sooner while the sky was a dark blue. The contrast between the dark clouds and yellowish tree leaves really caught my eye!

image

Wondering what I’m eating for dinner? Here’s the answer… sauteed zucchini and Rice-A-Roni (the San Francisco treat! – remember those ads?). I’m a big fan of zucchini and noticed a pretty good deal on it at the grocery after taking advantage of a price match so I picked up a few to have as sides with dinner this week. I like to sautee it in olive oil and season it with season salt and Italian seasoning. Simple, but delicious. Also, I cut mine in spears because I am able to get a little browning on it without cooking the crap out of it and getting soggy veggies. The reason behind Rice-A-Roni is because it’s cheap and easy.

image

I’ll try to be a little more organized by adding bullet points…

  • We’re moving this weekend… I think. Long story short, house drama is real. Our deal fell through on the house we were under contract on due to the appraisal coming in SUPER low. We decided to walk away. Then, we made an offer on another house and got into a bidding war and lost. Boo! Do you think I could get on an HGTV show about how a realistic house-buying process goes??For now, we are moving into my parents’ house (yes, again!) until we can find something we love. The hour and fifteen minute drive for my husband is killing us… in gas money and in time. We literally drive the opposite direction after work for no reason since my husband changed jobs. 45 minutes for me, and 75 minutes (on a good day) for him. Woof.
  • Despite the stress and honestly depression involved with the unsuccessful house-buying, I am falling more and more in love with our sweet little boy every day. I’m 22 (and a half!) weeks pregnant and am feeling great! We have yet to pick a name, but we are both totally okay with that for now. No need to rush something so important. I did notice myself out of breath after walking up a flight of stairs today during an on-site visit at a warehouse today for work. It was embarrassing!
  • Baby things I am excited about: Buying a crib, registering, buying more tiny clothes, and thinking of nursery decor ideas. My favorite idea (really, my only idea) right now is a fox theme. I’m dreaming of navy, white, dark brown, possibly gray, with pops of orange. I found some seriously comfy chairs/gliders at Babies R Us that I definitely want my husband to sit in to see if he will get on board and buy one of those babies. I know we will live in it once little man is here. They’re upwards of $400… not pocket change for us!
  • Work has been totally insane lately and I find myself coming home and being wiped out! The good news is that the busyness means growth and expansion. We hosted a seminar today organized by me and did an on-site job evaluation at a company that serves as a warehouse for grocery stores. I love going to manufacturers and industries to see what production looks like behind the scenes. I find it so interesting and always learn so much.
  • It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned the flea market booth that I share with a couple friends. After a pretty crappy March, April sales are looking good! Plus, garage sale seasoning is firing up and that means I can buy for cheap, cheap, cheap! Love me some profit off of other peoples’ junk.
  • A recipe to share: Crockpot Taco Chicken Bowls. We made this recipe for chicken nachos, but I think it could equally delicious with rice in a bowl as the recipe suggests. After 3 hours in the Crockpot, the chicken was perfectly seasoned and tasted great on top of a pile of chips and loaded down with cheese, pico de gallo, sour cream, salsa and cilantro. I used 3 chicken breasts and it was enough for 2 meals for us. I will definitely make this again! It would be a great in a fat-free tortilla, too!

If you’ve made it to the bottom of this post, congratulations. Sorry for the brain purge! I’m off to unload the dishwasher and make a fruit and yogurt parfait for dessert. Cheers!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

