Baby · Products

First Trimester Must-Haves

first trimester must haves

Here we go: my first pregnancy post! Today, I am 20 weeks, 5 days pregnant. A few weeks back, I made this graphic to remember my faves from the first 13 weeks of pregnancy. All in all, the first trimester was ‘okay’ for me. Sure, there were bad days, but still several good days! Here’s my list of things I just couldn’t do without, especially on those bad days 🙂

1. My migraine hot pack. I am not sure if I could live without one of these. I purchased mine from a spa, but there are plenty of DIYs online (like this one) to make one at home. I pop mine in the microwave for 45 seconds and then rest it on my eyes. If I happen to have a headache stemming from my neck, I will put it just below my hairline to let the heat relax my muscles. The headaches were pretty strong in the first couple weeks of pregnancy, but definitely calmed up until week 14 or so.

2. Lemon Ginger Tea. Ginger is a well-known nausea suppressant, so I picked up a box of ginger tea at the store when my nausea became unbearable. Some days I wasn’t able to keep water down, and I truly think drinking this tea (with a little sugar added, too) helped me overcome the nausea beast! I bought Stash brand, but only because it was cheapest. Just make sure you’re purchasing a tea with ginger root as a main ingredient, not artificial flavoring!

3. BeBand Belly Band. All hail the belly band! I can’t remember when I started wearing a belly band with my jeans… around 10 weeks? I could continue to wear my work pants because they have 3 clasps and I would leave the top unfastened to give me a little extra room for bloat. Eventually, I started wearing the belly band all the time. I started wearing maternity jeans and work plans exclusively around 18 weeks.

4. Nature Made Prenatal Vitamins. I did quite a bit of research before getting pregnant, and decided that taking prenatals while trying to conceive was a good idea. I am horrible about taking a multi-vitamin, so I really had to push my self to remember to take a prenatal each evening. The reason I picked this brand is because I had success with them in the past when trying to get my iron under control. They were gel-like capsules, didn’t smell like dog food (you know some vitamins do!), and didn’t upset my stomach. These look like the exact same thing. They do have iron, and have DHA which is supposedly good for baby’s development early on. These cost $11-12 at Walmart.

5. Zesta Saltine Crackers. A pregnancy staple… saltines! I munched on saltines at my desk every hour or so during my first trimester. I learned that if I kept something in my stomach, the nausea would stay away. I always find Zesta crackers to be salty and fresh.

6. Bread & Butter Pickles. Another typical pregnant-gal fave. A little sweet, a little sour, a little salty… what more could you want in a pickle? My husband detests bread and butter pickles, so the jar is all mine 🙂

7. Apps. The internet is a blessing and a curse during pregnancy. You have all the information in the world at your fingertips. Keep in mind, most of that information is not credible and can be horrifying! I was a little on edge during the first trimester and was worried by every cramp… but each time I found myself hovering over the toilet I was reassured that I was in fact pregnant. Jeremy and I have found these apps to be a great source of information. We look forward to Saturday mornings and checking for new information, fruit comparisons, and videos to mark the start of a new week of pregnancy.
We’ve downloaded:

  • What to Expect When You’re Expecting – why read when you can go digital?
  • The Bump
  • BabyCenter
  • Sprout (free version)

8. Tervis tumbler. Water is my friend, always has been, always will be. I’m a water drinker… and could go through the rest of my life with nothing else. Okay, wine is nice from time to time, but otherwise I tend to stick to water. I made a big effort in the beginning to make sure I was drinking plenty of water… sometimes 5 of these 24 oz. tumblers in a day. (I realize that can be kind of excessive.) Tervis cups keep my water cold and do not sweat!

Now that I’m halfway through my second trimester, I am trying to think of what will be on my next must-haves list. I’m having a hard time coming up with ideas because the trimester has been a breeze so far!

What are your must-haves for the first several weeks of pregnancy? I would love to hear your favorites, and any recommendations for the 2nd and 3rd trimesters.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “First Trimester Must-Haves

  1. Glad to know someone else is bloated in their 10th week. I thought I was the only one feeling so huge so fast. A very handy list, great post 😀

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

