Family · Holidays

Catching Up…

Good Thursday morning to you! I’ve taken a little hiatus from blogging because life has been pretty darn busy. Between Christmas parties, shopping, date night, and the birth of a new cousin (!!!), life has been a whirlwind lately. I won’t complain – I kind of like it.

…Except the part where my whole house is a disaster because we are never home to clean up the messes we  I make when we are I am there.

So, here’s what we’ve been up to…

Date Night at the Nutcracker

My sweet husband planned a date night for us to see the Moscow Ballet Great Russian Nutcracker, which was in town for a one time show.

nutcracker

We enjoyed wine, popcorn, and the show was fabulous. I love ballet and this production was done SO well. It was beautiful! Here are a few photos we snapped from our seats, way up in the nosebleeds. The tickets weren’t cheap so we settled for the upper balcony.

IMG_6293

IMG_6294

IMG_6295

IMG_6296

IMG_6297

IMG_6298

IMG_6299

Parties

Last Friday we attended Jeremy’s office Christmas party, which was held at one of the physician’s homes. Typically I’m not nervous in social situations at all, but since Jeremy’s the “new guy” and I had never met anyone before, I was a little anxious.

The party was really nice. Lots of mingling, eating & drinking, and a friendly gift swap. The doctors provided the food – and it was delish. Jeremy and I agreed that our favorite appetizer was the simplest. A toothpick with cheese tortellini, mozzarella, cherry tomato, and a basil leaf drizzled with a light vinaigrette. Fresh & flavorful! This recipe for Tortellini Caprese Bites seems very similar to what we had. I definitely plan to re-create these.

Oh, and the hosting doc gave Jeremy a frozen pheasant. Looks like I’ll be googling pheasant recipes!

The next day we attended Jeremy’s annual family Christmas party. We had a great time like usual visiting, eating, drinking – and this time we toured his cousins’ new house. Here’s a group photo we snapped at the end… Can you say flowy shirt fail on my part? That’s right – I’m the purple blob in the front.

chanter

Shopping

…or the lack there of. I was feeling good about my progress so far, and then I realized that this weekend is the last weekend before Christmas. Traffic has been nuts near the mall during the day, and I know it’s only going to get worse. I will just have to bite the bullet and finish up. I plan to start early in the day on Saturday so I don’t waste my whole day looking for a parking spot and standing in line.

With that being said, I have found some great deals on Amazon, Zulily, and Groopdealz this year. I am truly excited for our family to open the gifts that are waiting under the tree!! (That’s right, I’ve wrapped everything I have bought!)

Archie’s Arrival

My cousin Nick and his wife Sydney welcomed a little one into our family this week. Archie Scot came 5 weeks early, weighing just under 5 pounds. He is too cute and is the perfect addition to our family, just in time for Christmas! Photos later 🙂

 

That’s all for now – back to work!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Catching Up…

  1. You’ve been busy! Glad to see things are going so well. Don’t be so hard on yourself…it’s more the pose than the shirt. You had to bend funny for the pic

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

