Recipes

Red Carpet Reflections: Primetime Emmy’s 2014

Welcome to the second installment of my Red Carpet Reflections series! I had lots of fun blogging about my faves and fails from this year’s Oscars – and I figured I would do it again!

Whether you were able to watch the Emmy’s last night or not, I hope this post gives you a glimpse of what the stars wore. This time, I’m focusing on my faves and limiting my fails.

Best Color Statement

Teyonah Parris

Teyonah Parris is glowing in this “wow” of a dress! Her glowing skin tone complements the coral and lime beautifully. This dress is by Christian Siriano – I’m convinced he can do no wrong.

Best Red

Giuliana Rancic

Giuliana Rancic is classy and stunning in this red gown. Not only do I love the bold red that mimics the red carpet, but I love how this dress works on her body. With such a small frame, many gowns could wear Giuliana instead of her wearing the gown. She dominates in this number!

Best Metallic

Amy Poehler

Amy Poehler’s disco-ball-like dress is a hit to me. I like the curves it creates on her. The tossled wavy hair and smokey eye is a win in my book. Plus, I can’t get enough of her on Parks & Rec. Jeremy and I have been watching it from the beginning on Netflix.

Best Coral

Heidi Klum
Coral dominated the red carpet. This Zac Posen dress is a beautiful combo of color, romantic lines, and simplicity. Her blonde waves and Lorraine Schwartz jewels are perfect for this look. In my book, this coral number takes the cake compared to the similar color dresses worn by other stars.

Best Bump

Hayden Penttiere

Hayden Panettiere is a sparkling momma-to-be! I particularly like the idea of showing cleavage, but overall covering up the bump.

Best White (and hottest husband)

McConaughey

Meow! What a stunning couple! I’ll start with Camila Alves McConaughey’s white cut-out gown. It’s form-fitting, feminine, and fierce. Kudos to the straight hair behind the shoulders to show off the detailed neck line.

I thought Matthew McConaughey had one of his best red carpet looks at the Oscars with his white coat look. I’m really liking this navy and black combo. It’s classic with a twist. A+ from Andrea.

Best Neutral

Halle Berry

Halle Berry is gorgeous is the mauve-y neutral flowing gown. Things I like about it: EVERYTHING. The color complements her skin tone, the thigh-high slit makes it sexy without being slutty, and the neckline draws attention to her killer toned arms. I have a case of arm envy! Halle never ages.

The fails…

Kerry Washington

 

I’m sorry Kerry Washington, but no. No to the color. No to the black sequin peek-a-boo. No to the boning/striping/whatever it’s called. This look is too boxy and too plain. I think Kerry’s best looks are in romantic gowns, and this one just doesn’t hit the mark.

Lena Dunham

Disaster. You had to see this one coming. I should be honest and admit that I don’t particularly care for Lena Dunham, but I wouldn’t like this dress on anyone, at any time, at any place. Horrible.

 

So there you have it! My opinions on this year’s Primetime Emmy’s looks. What was your fave? Do you agree with my fails?

 

 

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

