Weight Watchers Journal

WW Update: Week 20 Results

20 weeks? Wow!

For week 20, I gained 0.4 pounds for a total of 26.6 pounds lost.
I am 13.4 pounds away from my “40 pounds lost by September 1st” goal. I started Weight Watchers on 3/14/14, so if I do not reach my September 1st goal, I can give myself two more weeks to make it happen before the 6 month landmark.

I know 0.4 pounds is nothing to fret about, but the fact that I didn’t lose weight pisses me off. I told myself I would not step on the scale daily, like I normally do. Apparently that didn’t work for me… back to daily weighing! When I weighed on Monday morning I was the same weight as I was the previous Friday (same day as my Week 19 update). I did well with working out and eating well this week, but that wasn’t enough.

My staples for this week have been:
– I’ve been all over the place. I can’t think of anything that I relied on all week. Our garden has died so the gravy train of free cucumbers, zucchini, squash, and peppers is over.

My saving grace this week:
– Hard-boiled eggs. I love them. Is that weird? They are only 2 points plus a piece and I have been eating them before workouts. I found an article on Weight Watchers’ website that suggests removing the egg and replacing it with hummus. Sounds pretty tasty! You can read that article discussing pre and post workout snacks here: http://www.weightwatchers.com/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=43791

Featured meal this week:
I made turkey burgers for the second time in my life! The first time was about two years ago and my burgers turned out flavorful, but dry. Boo!

Second time was the charm! Our grilled turkey burgers were so tasty, moist, and pretty low on points when you weigh the cooked burger on a food scale.

Moist and flavorful Turkey Burgers

  • 1.25 lb ground turkey
  • 2 T seasoned bread crumbs(heaping for 1.25 lbs, level scoops for 1 lb.)
  • 1 egg
  • 4 t garlic powder
  • 4 t finely chopped onion (I used more because we love onion)
  • 2 T soy sauce (use reduced-sodium if you have it)
  • 2 T Worcestershire
  • 1/2 t steak seasoning (sprinkle on top of patties)

It’s pretty simple, folks… Dig in and hand-mix together the ingredients (set aside steak seasoning) and form into patties. I believe I made 6 or 7 decent sized turkey patties. Sprinkle one side with your favorite steak seasoning. We love the McCormick Montreal Steak Seasoning shaker. Oil your grill (I didn’t do this, but should have) and grill the burgers for 5-7 minutes per side over medium heat.

While these were grilling I whipped up some homemade guacamole and put a dollop on top of my burger. We ate these without buns, but lettuce wraps would be a great zero-point choice.

Eating out this week:
BAD. Hey, maybe this is why I didn’t lose weight? Taco Bell & a hot fudge sundae on Sunday… not good. The family went out for pizza on Wednesday, but I limited myself to 2 pieces and a big salad with French dressing (around 4 pp for 1 oz.)

Working out this week:
I did well!
– Saturday: Walked 5 miles at Wilson’s Creek with my friend Melodie!
– Monday: Zumba
– Tuesday: 5 a.m. PiYO
– Thursday: PiYO with my Mother-in-law

Visible changes this week:
Better posture, which is a weird thing to notice. The few remaining pants that fit seem to be more loose this week. Yay! This weekend is a “Sales Tax Holiday” here in MO, and I plan on buying just one pair of pants to get me through a few more weeks.

Goals for next week:
Track every little snack, no matter how few points it is. (Same goal as last week, but I did not manage to accomplish it.)

 

4 thoughts on “WW Update: Week 20 Results

  1. You are still doing great. I would say that .4 pounds is well within the accuracy tolerance of the scale, which means you might not have changed at all. Nothing wrong with maintaining for a week.

    If I were to guess, I would say that water retention from restaurant food could be a culprit here. But it doesn’t matter. What matters is that you are not giving up, and you are sticking to a good plan.

    I say you should stand up and take a bow.

      1. They could, but they aren’t. You are still down a lot of pounds, and I bet you are still feeling great. You are welcome. Anytime you need a shot in the arm of encouragement, look me up. 🙂

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

