exercise · Weight Watchers Journal

WW Update: Week 18 Results

Can you believe it’s Friday already? It seems like yesterday I was writing my week 17 reflection.

For week 18, I gained 0.4 pounds for a total of 25 pounds lost. (I am +0.4 from my lowest point at Week 17)
I am 15 pounds away from my “40 pounds lost by September 1st” goal.

No surprise here. After a monster week (for me) last week, I didn’t have high expectations for week 18. I didn’t use that as an excuse, but still… maybe I did?

My staples for this week have been:
– Loving fresh peaches and lots of bananas.
– Garden fresh cucumbers. I like to eat them with Laughing Cow Cheese Wedges. Yum yum and only 1 pp for the wedge, and obviously the cucumber is free!

My saving grace this week:
– Portion control. I’ll give myself a pat on the back for keeping things under control.

Featured meal this week:
I did not make any new recipes this week, but my mom did fix one of my favorites for dinner last night: Zucchini Bake! I don’t know the recipe by heart and can’t find anything online that’s similar. I’ll give you the gist: It’s like the inside of a stuffed pepper, baked and then served over brown rice, with melted cheese on top. I skipped out on the rice and ate it with an ounce of fat free cheddar on top. Savory, a little spicy, and super delicious!

Eating out this week:
Not too shabby! My only downfall was El Rodeo on Wednesday. I have a love/hate relationship with El Rodeo.

First I should say that I am a sucker for a good Mexican restaurant. Crispy, warm, salty chips served with fresh salsa? I’m in! When the hubby and I moved to Bolivar a couple years ago we fell in love with the local Mexican joint. The prices were good, services was quick, and the food was always good. So good that we ate there a lot. Maybe once a week? It was our solution to a busy work day (for me) and a busy school day (for Jeremy). We could get in and get out.

There were many nights when I huffed and puffed my way up the stairs to our 3rd floor apartment after dining at El Rodeo. We over-ate. Every time.

So after that sob story you’re probably thinking, why in the world would you go back there? Good question! We went to Kansas City on Wednesday and El Rodeo is on the way. We stopped in for early dinner and it was just as delicious as always. This time I didn’t eat my entire meal – so that was a win! I ended up not being hungry for the rest of the evening.

I should also mentioned that we had pizza and a calzone for dinner last Friday night at my aunt and uncle’s pizza shop.

Working out this week:
– 5-mile walk in the ridiculous heat on Saturday afternoon
– Zumba Monday night
– PiYO Thursday night (I’m sore this morning!)

I talked myself out of walking at Wilson’s Creek on my day off on Wednesday. Not proud.

Visible changes this week:
What’s up, biceps? PiYO is totally paying off.

Goals for next week:
Track everyday. Walk at Wilson Creek at least twice. Try a new recipe!

 

8 thoughts on “WW Update: Week 18 Results

  1. You did fine this week. 0.4 pounds is an anomaly. A trip to the bathroom can reduce that much with ease. So, essentially you were level. I would say that is something to celebrate!

    Keep up the great work. I hadn’t thought about it before, but we basically started around the same time (I just finished week 20). What is your % loss so far?

    1. I noticed that this morning as well! What inspired you to start (again) when you did?

      I hadn’t even thought about calculating % of weight loss… it is 13.16%. Thanks for your kind words!

      1. I had a few things that got me re-started. I had a doctor appointment on February 28th, and I hated all my numbers… My weight, my A1C, my cholesterol, were all up. Even my normally low BP had ticked up a bit.

        My knees hurt all the time and I just felt miserable. I was winded walking stairs and hated that feeling.

        My son was going through some health difficulties and as a result he worked hard to lose 60 pounds. I saw how he had done it, despite what he was going through.

        All those things came together to inspire me to do something about my situation. I had just turned 52, and feared that I wouldn’t live long enough to meaningfully enjoy my retirement.

        The next day I re-started WW, and kicked off my Health Journey blog.

        How about you?

      2. That’s fantastic. Have you been to the doctor since to see how your stats compare?

        I didn’t have a trigger event or anything that made me want to start. I knew a couple people who have had success on the WW program and thought that I could give it a try. My husband had moved out of state for a clinical rotation the week before and I thought that it was as good as any other day to start so I began on a Friday… proof that not all weight-loss and exercise regimens have to start on Monday 🙂

      3. Here is the post I wrote when I went to the doctor in June:

        http://bobby-c-health.com/2014/06/20/cracking-through-the-big-5-0/

        My journey started on a Saturday officially, but really it started when I was sitting at home in tears on that Friday.

        You are doing a great job. I really enjoy your blog posts.

        I have another blog that I post to every day, I am trying to write 365 posts about quotations from a book I received at Christmas. That blog is

        http://www.bobby-c-blog.com

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

