Recipes

Healthy & Easy Weeknight Meal

I was looking for something to mix up my usual chicken routine and had a light bulb moment…turkey sausage! Duh!

If you’re looking for a quick and easy eat, I think you’ll find this recipe pleasing. And yes, it is Weight Watchers friendly.

Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

20140618-190923.jpg

This is one of those “clean out your fridge” meals. I used baby bell peppers and yellow onions, but you could easily add mushrooms, squash, etc.

The sausage I used is the Hillshire Farms Turkey Kielbasa. I scanned the barcode with my trusty Weight Watchers app and learned that it’s 2 pp for 2 oz. Nice!

I started by chopping my veggies. Chop however you like, I prefer julienne or something close to it. For this meal, I used 2 yellow onions, a couple handfuls of sweet bell peppers, and one package of sausage. I cut the sausage in 3″ segments and then in half long ways.

In my seasoned cast iron skillet, I added 1 tsp of olive oil and the sausage segments. I cooked them on medium heat, for about 4-5 minutes per side. We don’t like our food super crispy and charred, but if you do, go for it! When the sausage is finished, remove it from the skillet and let it rest on paper towels.

Using the same hot skillet, add another teaspoon of olive oil and the onion. Let the onions cooks slowly and stir them occasionally to help them pick up the sausage flavors remaining in the pan. As these break apart and separate, add the peppers.

If you’ve read my recipes for any length of time you’ll know that I am obsessed with Mrs. Dash original seasoning. It is so good. Unfortunately, we were out so I substituted with this seasoning…

20140618-191821.jpg

It is a really tasty seasoning. We bought it in Salt Lake City when we were setting up Jeremy for his 8-week clinical. I wish I could recommend a place to buy it, but I don’t know where it’s sold. Season it to your liking.

Okay, back to the meal. Continue cooking the veggies to your desired level of softness or crunch. I also added a little salt and some crushed red pepper because we like to kick it up a notch!!

Add the sausages back into the skillet to reheat them if needed.

20140618-201558.jpg

So on my plate, pictured above:
– Minute brown rice, 3/4 c for 4 pp
– 3 1/2 segments of sausage, 3.2 oz for 4 pp
– veggies, free!

Technically you could count the olive oil, but since I used so little and had a small portion (well, 1 cup of veg) I didn’t bother. I try to leave a few points each day in my points “bank” for gray areas like these.

I encourage you to give this a shot! I don’t know how you couldn’t like it!

3 thoughts on “Healthy & Easy Weeknight Meal

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

