exercise

Reactions to my first side-by-side photo

Happy Wednesday to you!

Today I’m writing about a photo I posted on my Instagram account last night. The photo is a side-by-side photo showing my weight loss and journey to being a healthier version of myself.

This was the first time I had posted anything health/weight loss related on social media. I try to keep things like that here on the blog for a couple reasons.

  1. It’s embarrassing. It’s embarrassing to say, “Hey, I know I’m fat and I’m going to try to do something about it.” Here’s the risk you take by saying that… people will offer words of encouragement and suggestions on how you can lose weight. They will most likely piss you off or suggest something that you hate. (They’re just trying to help!) Also, what if you fail? I don’t want people to know I’ve started this journey if I can’t stick with it and finish it.
  2. I try not to overshare on social media. I like to keep my oversharing on the blog. I don’t want all of my friends on Facebook to know where I am or what I’m doing. That’s creepy! And I just don’t care for everyone and their mother to know.

The reaction I got from the post far exceeded my expectations – well, I didn’t really have expectations. I received so many nice and encouraging comments from friends and family. It still feels weird for people to compliment me, but I think I can get used to it.

So, here’s the photo…

IMG_0110

The picture on the left was taken at my brother & sister-in-law’s high school graduation last May. (No they aren’t married… my brother, Jeremy’s sister.) I was the same weight then as I was when I started Weight Watchers nearly 12 weeks ago. I wore that same dress yesterday. What a difference 20 pounds makes. It’s insane!

I’m so glad I put these two photos together so that I can use it as motivation to keep dropping pounds. I’m not calling this a “before & after”, I’m calling it “before & during”!

Thanks for reading – I appreciate you!

One thought on “Reactions to my first side-by-side photo

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

