Beauty · Must-Have Monday · Products

Must-Have Monday: Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo

Residue is a gross word. Nothing pretty about it! And, the same goes for having product build-up on your scalp.

This week’s MHM post is all about combating hair product build-up and a shampoo that I have found that is my best defense mechanism.

Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo

neutro

What is it? This is a clarifying shampoo that I use on my scalp once per week to give my scalp a deep clean.

Why is it a must-have? I use a combo of hair spray (and lots of it), dry shampoo, dry oil spray, and curl cream mousse during the week. My scalp retains some of these products and my normal shampoo (Joico Moisture Recovery) just can’t cut it. I focus the Neutrogena shampoo on my scalp and use my normal shampoo on the rest of my hair since it is fine and tangles easily. I did make the mistake of using this on all my hair once and it felt super dry and I thought I would never been able to get a brush through it. My Joico conditioner saved the day and it gave me no issues.

After using this shampoo on my roots, my hair feels lightweight and has more volume since it isn’t weighed down with product.

Cost: I purchased this at Walmart for $4-5. I included a photo of the bottle in the packaging. If you’re just looking for the square clear bottle you may not find it on the shelf.

I encourage you to give it a try if you battle hair product-build up. I would caution you from using this more than once a week. I would be afraid of it being too harsh and drying out your scalp.

Happy Monday! Have a great week!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

