Recipes

Pork Fajitas: A Weight Watchers Recipe

Hola! Today I’m posting a recipe that totally hit the spot.

My mom had put a pork loin in the crockpot this morning, which caused me to think long and hard this afternoon about what kind of meal I could eat that involved pork and was Weight Watchers friendly. (Read about why I’m living with my parents here)

Here’s what I came up with, simple pork fajitas!

20140324-185437.jpg

Ingredients:
– Pork, 4 oz. unseasoned
– Bell peppers, I used baby bell peppers (orange, yellow, red), julienned
– 1 small onion, cut into strips
– Fajita size fat free flour tortillas
– Canned black beans, low-sodium or sodium-free are best!
– Shredded cheddar cheese
– Olive oil, 1 tsp.
– 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
– Crushed red pepper
– Mrs. Dash fiesta lime seasoning
– Salt
– 1 tsp. fajita seasoning
– 1/8 tsp. ground cumin

Weight Watchers info:
– My plate, pictured above is 11 pointsplus
– These are the portions: 1 oz. pork per fajita, 1 1/2 cups roasted veggies, 1/4 cup cheddar cheese, 2 fat free flour tortillas, 2/3 cup black beans

Directions:
– Prepare pork in crockpot. We like to add a thawed roast to a crockpot with 1 cup of warm water. No seasoning is required for this recipe. We cook the pork on low while we’re at work.
– Heat a cast iron skillet to medium high heat. Add olive oil.
– Chop veggies. Add to skillet. Yes, these will sizzle!
– Sautée veggies for 2 minutes on medium high heat then reduce to medium. Stir occasionally.
– Partially drain the black beans. I don’t mind the goopy sauce but I don’t like any sauce on my plate. Heat thoroughly.
– Season veggies with a shake of crushed red pepper flakes and garlic powder.
– Season black beans with Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime and cumin. Season these to taste! I like a pretty powerful flavor with these. Add salt and pepper if necessary. Cook on medium. Remaining sauce/bean juice will thicken.
– Add pork to veggies. It should shred easily as you stir it. I sprinkled some fajita seasoning on top. Add a couple tablespoons of water if it appears dry.
– It’s time to eat!

Here are the seasonings I used.

20140324-190914.jpg

20140324-190934.jpg

I encourage you to try this and to make it your own. Don’t like pork, do chicken! Want to go lighter? Try a low fat cheese or sour cream. If I would have had salsa in my fridge I would have used it!

This was a quick meal that left me full and satisfied. This made enough for 4 fajitas and 2 servings of beans. That means I’ve got lunch for tomorrow!

Have a great week!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

