Marriage · Travel · Weekend in Photos

Weekend in Photos: WW & W

Happy Sunday! I just returned from my 2nd trip to Wichita, unpacked, and am settling down for the night. I thought I would type up a quick post about our weekend highlights.

As you may have guessed, one of the W’s in the title of this post represents Wichita. Jeremy finished his first week at his new rotation and I drove out west after work on Friday to visit.

photo 1

 

Don’t travel west unless you have a great pair of sunglasses. The sun is killer!

The other set of W’s stands for Weight Watchers. I started Weight Watchers online with Sydney on Friday. I am so excited about this new adventure and am hopeful that it will bring some serious changes. I plan on doing some weekly updates and will share tasty recipes. More on this later…

Jeremy and I were ridiculously happy to see each other on Friday! Being together all the time for a couple months had spoiled us big time and to be honest, this first week apart was hard. When I got to Wichita Friday evening we made dinner in his hotel room and enjoyed TV and laughs! I made a 12 pointsplus dinner: Chicken breast, brown rice, and seasoned frozen veggies. Yum! We both loved it.

On Saturday, we slept in and had a late brunch. I had fresh fruit because it’s 0 points! Whoop whoop! Jeremy studied for a few hours while I caught up on Project Runway and some of my favorite YouTube beauty channels. We headed out for dinner at Olive Garden. You’re probably thinking that I’m crazy for going to carb-heaven one day after starting a new eating plan. That’s where the Weight Watchers app comes in to play. It’s loaded with restaurant menu listing with points values. Super helpful and helped guide my meal. I had Lasagna primavera, with salad and a couple breadsticks! I was ridiculously full. We spent the evening catching up and watching episode after episode of Modern Family.

We made a trip to Starbucks to start our Sunday. I had a tall Skinny Caramel Macchiato and it was delicious and totally worth 3 points! I don’t think I’ll ever go back to just have a regular caramel macchiato because I liked the skinny version so much better. We took a trip to Wichita State, where we happened upon the Original Pizza Hut! How cool is that?

photo 2

photo 3

It was a super windy day, hence the hood!

We finished this weekend’s Wichita adventure at On The Border, a chain Tex-Mex joint. I hadn’t been to one in years and holy moly it was just as tasty as I remember! Again, the WW app had all the info I needed to order a points-friendly meal. I chose the lunch portion of the grilled chicken fajitas, but didn’t use tortillas. There was one problem, I did indulge in chips and salsa… for a whopping 11 points! Yikes! I planned the rest of my meals accordingly and it was totally worth it! Jeremy had never been to OTB and he really enjoyed his meal!

It was another tearful Sunday afternoon goodbye as I left for Missouri. Next weekend, my husband will come to me! However, he’s leaving for Brazil on Saturday. More details on that later!

Random Thoughts/The Week Ahead:

  • Let me know if you’re interested in hearing even more about WW. I don’t want to over-post about it! This evening I’m going to pour through the app and add items to the built in grocery list. I’m heading to the store tomorrow to pick out the ammo I need to kill it this week 🙂
  • Our friends Kelsey and Andrew welcomed little Bryson into the world last week. For her shower gift, I told Kelsey I would paint a sign with Bryson’s birth stats to hang in his nursery. I’m going to start that project this week. Look for a tutorial post later.
  • I ended up ordering 9 more Coastal Scents eyeshadows when they were on sale for 99 cents a piece! I’m dying for those to be shipped. I can’t remember what colors I ordered, so it will be a surprise opening the package. Look for a swatches post. Can’t wait!

As always, thanks for reading!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

