Beauty

Red Carpet Reflections: Oscars 2014

It’s a snowy, cold Monday morning and I can’t think of anything better than blogging about the 2014 Oscars. It was the first year that I have watched the majority of the Oscars ceremony – and I really enjoyed it. I thought Ellen was funny, despite some tweets I read. Of course, every joke will not be a hit but I have always enjoyed her humor and fresh take.

Let’s get to it… the purpose of this post is to review some of the good – and not so good – red carpet looks and highlights from the Academy Awards. I’ve broken up my post into color categories, because I decided that was the easiest way to get my message across.

I’ll begin with the men, because… why not?! Who doesn’t love a guy in a sharp tux!

BEST WHITE – MEN’S

Matthew McConaughey

Oh baby, Matthew McConaguhey in white… pinch me! His off-white coat complemented his darker skin tone perfectly. His wife’s look worked nicely with his, but I could have done without the flowing shoulder piece. Their kids will grow to be beautiful people.

BEST BOWTIE

Jared Leto

The best supporting actor winner wore a burgundy bowtie with a peep of a burgundy pocket square. I loved the pop of color! He also wins my award for best men’s ombre.

BEST NAVY – MEN’S

Kevin Spacey

Kevin Spacey wore a navy tuxedo, with a black lapel and bowtie. The color was refreshing in a sea of black (and a few white) tuxes. Also, kudos to going all in and wearing navy pants as well.

BEST BLACK – MEN’S

Bradley Cooper

Bradley Cooper, meeeeow! He’s my winner in the traditional men’s black tux category. The black bowtie and buttons are so sharp. Perfection.

These were my top picks for the men. There’s not a lot of creativity when it comes to the men’s tux, but I felt like these gents hit the mark. Another guy who took a creative risk missed the mark (in my opinion), but you’ll see that in my MISSES category at the end. Now, onto the ladies… Overall, I felt like there was a lot of color this year. Normally, I feel like black rules the evening gown world, but not this year.

BEST NAVY – WOMEN’S

sandra bullockSandra Bullock hit a home-run with this navy number. Her hair and makeup was styled perfectly for this look. She also wins my award for most TV time. Because Gravity swept many of the technical awards, the cameraman showed her face EVERY SINGLE TIME an award was won for that movie. She’s stunning! I will give a runner-up award to Amy Adams.

BEST RED

jennifer lawrence

Jennifer Lawrence, I love you. Everything she touches turns to gold. Even though she had ANOTHER Oscar’s fall (red carpet this time), she is a normal girl and acts like it. I love that about her. She deserves a gold medal for this look. The color, peplum, backwards necklace, hairstyle, everything about her look is flawless.

BEST NUDE – 2 WINNERS

Angelina Jolie

I feel like Angelina Jolie looked the best she has in years. Black is so expected for her and I loved the surprise of this glittering “greige” number. Her skin tone looked tan and her hair and makeup was beautiful. I think she had a brighter color lip on during the show, but her lips look nude here. She’s glowing! Brad also looked dapper, as usual. I’m glad his long hair is a thing of the past.

Jenna Dewan TatumJenna Dewan Tatum is stunning in this gown. I love the illusion top and the full bottom of the dress. It seems like “greige” is a new thing. I’m okay with that… these ladies rocked it!

BEST BLACK – WOMEN’S

Charlize Theron

Charlize is one of the most gorgeous women in Hollywood. I really liked the illusions this dress created. There weren’t many black looks this year, but this one is a winner.

BEST WHITE – WOMEN’S – 2 WINNERS

Kate Hudson

Kate Hudson is flawless in this off-white gown. It complements her skin tone nicely. I love everything she does, this dress included! You’ll also see her mom, Goldie Hawn,  farther down my list.

Kelly Osbourne

Classy! Kelly Osbourne’s body is rocking in this white gown with beaded shawl. I think this is a timeless look. Don’t you think this would make a beautiful wedding dress?

BEST PINK – 2 WINNERS

Gabourey Sidibe

Gabourey Sibide is not afraid of color! She looks gorgeous in this fuschia gown. I love it! She was the only lady I saw in a dress this color.

Gaga

On the other end of the pink spectrum, Lady Gaga was magnificent in this blush number. I applaud her for wearing something normal for once.

BEST GOLD – 2 WINNERS

Kristin Chenoweth

A bit similar to Gaga’s look, don’t you think? Kristin Chenoweth looks great in this golden architectural dress. Because she’s a tiny tiny woman, I expect she isn’t easy to style. I love this look on her!

Goldie Hawn

From structured to flowing… Goldie Hawn is certainly looking golden in this gown. Can you believe Kate Hudson’s mom is 68? Her signature blonde locks complement this color well.

THE MISSES – MEN & WOMEN’S

Anne HathawaySorry, Anne Hathaway, I’m not blown away by this one. She seems to go with that neckline often, and I never like it. I would have liked to see more glamour in her makeup look.

Anna Kendrick

Anna Kendrick, no. This is wrong on several levels for me.

Elsa Pataky

Elsa Pataky 2

You have to give a pregnant lady in a gown some slack, but the cut of this dress on Elsa Pataky is bizarre. The beading and color of this dress are beautiful. But the cut? What the heck? And the side-boob? Not attractive. Get rid of the low cut neck and give this lady an empire waist… please!

Olivia Wilde and Kerry Washington rocked some gorgeous gowns over their bumps, but I wasn’t moved enough to add them to my list.

Pharrell

Pharrell Williams, keep your bird legs kneecaps to yourself, please. That’s is all!

ODDS & ENDS

BEST PERFORMANCE

Pink

I missed Pharrell’s live performance of “Happy”, but from what I did see P!nk gave a fantastic rendition of Somewhere Over the Rainbow in a Wizard of Oz tribute performance. Her ruby red dress was just as beautiful as her singing. Her simple, natural makeup look suited her well.

BEST ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

Not only was Matthew McConaughey’s white tux a win, but his acceptance speech for best actor was moving. He gave an organized speech where he thanked God, his family, and gave inspiration to others. Plus, he has such a cool voice. I could listen to him talk all day long!

Jeremy and I have wanted to watch Dallas Buyer’s Club, but haven’t done it yet. We should get on that…

And, finally……..

THE SELFIE HEARD ‘ROUND THE WORLD

Ellen Selfie

Ellen and Meryl Streep aimed to break a record for the most retweeted tweet of all time. They succeeded! Channing Tatum, Jared Leto, and Brad Pitt all in one photo? Of course it broke the record!

There you have it, my take on the Oscar’s. I hope you enjoyed my opinions!

One thought on “Red Carpet Reflections: Oscars 2014

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

