Family · Holidays · Recipes

Allen Family Christmas Cookies 2013

One of my favorite family traditions in making Christmas cookies with my dad. We use the same recipes – my great-grandmother’s soft sugar cookie recipe and Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook’s rolled sugar cookies recipe. Every year, we make the same shapes – trees, snowmen, stockings, stars, candy canes, angels, and bells. This year the bell cookie cutter was MIA, the tree cutter got mangled in the back of a drawer (luckily, we had a back up), and the star’s arms are starting to look funky. I think a new set of cookie cutters are in order for Bake-A-Thon 2014.

IMG_0046

 

IMG_0047

 

My dad worked in bakery when he moved to Springfield in the late 80’s. I’m not going to lie – the man’s got some talent! Cookies, pies, cakes, breads, you name it, he can bake it. Our annual cookie making is one of my favorite Christmas traditions, and one that I hope to pass on to my children some day.

The rookie blogger in me forgot to take photos of the iced cookies before they were delivered to the neighbors. There’s always next year!

Do you have a Christmas cookie recipe to share? Please do!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

