Recipes

no maple required

Good morning!

It is a beautiful Saturday morning, here in Bolivar. It’s about 50 degrees at 10 a.m. and is supposed to be a very spring-like day.

Because I am such a party animal, I went to bed before 11 p.m. last night – meaning this morning came around 8:30 or so. I was starving, of course.

Since I made savory eggs last weekend, I wanted something sweet this weekend.

Ah ha – French Toast!

I like my french toast batter to be made of: eggs, milk, vanilla flavoring, ground cinnamon, and granulated sugar. We had a fresh loaf of 100% whole wheat bread.

So that went all great and fine, but we didn’t have any maple syrup. Which I knew going into the kitchen this morning, but I knew peanut butter or nutella or something like that would suffice.

I found a solution that took my regular french toast over the edge!

BLACKBERRY SYRUP

The necessaries:

  • Blackberries, duh. We had about half a plastic container full of them. I’m going to estimate that was about 1 cup.
  • Water
  • Granulated sugar
  • Something to stir with, for a long time
  • A medium saucepan

I started by rinsing the berries and putting them in the saucepan and started heating it up – starting at a lower heat. I put in about half a cup of warm water and let them get jiggy with it.

I ended up turning the heat up to medium and really had them boiling. The berries really start to change in appearance rather quickly. The water turns the dark maroon color and the berries lighten as well. I used a slotted metal spoon the entire time, which I used to smash some of the berries when they got super soft. I didn’t smash them all because I wanted a variety of textures.

Before I go on – NO, I did not strain out the blackberries. But you could, and I would do it at this point before adding sugar. Sugar and sieves don’t mix.

Keeping at the medium heat, I started adding sugar 1 tablespoon at a time. I started by adding five tablespoons just to see what happened. A couple minutes later I added three more.

I would estimate that I constantly stirred the syrup over medium heat for 5 to 7 minutes.

I dropped it down to a low-medium for about five more minutes and added two more tablespoons of sugar. It started to thicken as I slowly decreased the heat.

Finally, I brought it down to low and I felt like the consistency would be perfect when it was cooled.

I poured the syrup into a glass jar for storage. I probably won’t keep it stored this way for too terribly long… but honestly, this yummy stuff won’t last long in this apartment!

photo (1)

How would I describe this syrup:

  • Not too sweet
  • Tart
  • Chunky, yet smooth
  • Fresh, bright
  • Deep flavored

I encourage you to make your own syrup! Prior to starting this adventure I consulted my good friend google, but all recipes I found were way too in depth. This was simple, easy, and pretty quick (as far as syrups go).

image

Happy Saturday!

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

