Holidays

bow

And so it is, our first Christmas tree is up, decorated, and plugged in.

About 50% of the decor is from Hobby Lobby, including unique ornaments and ribbon. The perfect ribbon.

Typically, I prefer a traditional looking angel to top the tannenbaum, but Hobby Lobby let me down. They looked like possessed dolls in sequin gowns. Not my style.

To settle this conundrum, I turned to YouTube. Actually, some salt and pepper headed woman on YouTube from a wreath/floral shop. Her technique was pretty simple, but I didn’t have any wire to keep the ribbon loops together. She used a pipe cleaner. Genius!

The McGyver in me used a couple ornament hooks and masking tape to create this dynamite peppermint candy striped ribbon tree topper. I’m pretty damn proud!

Here’s the link to the tutorial, and my photos below. http://youtu.be/GbklmSC-qgM

20121129-220221.jpg

20121129-220245.jpg

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

