Marriage

marriage

Defined by Webster:

mar·riage/ˈmarij/

Noun:
  1. The formal union of a man and a woman, typically recognized by law, by which they become husband and wife.
  2. A relationship between married people or the period for which it lasts.

“For which it lasts”. Really?! 

Jeremy and I are on Day Forty-Something of marriage. A lifelong marriage. We’re lucky to have been building a strong relationship for the past five (or so) years. Divorce is a concept so foreign to me, but one that I’ve learned more about very recently.

One of my closest friends from childhood has filed for divorce from her husband of one year and a month or two. My heart aches for her and her struggles. She and I are keeping in close contact since her big decision, and I can’t help but to feel her emotions myself.

Humiliated &  Embarrassed. This is how she’s feeling. She is embarrassed to be admitting that her marriage wasn’t perfect, wasn’t happy, wasn’t safe, and to be breaking the covenant of marriage.

She’s a strong, ambitious Christian. And in graduate school to further herself in a field that she will excel. She deserves all the happiness in the world – and a man who can uplift, support, and love her unconditionally.

What do you say to someone blindly sifting through the chaos of graduate school and divorce? My forty-something day marriage is already more secure than her marriage ever was. I can’t tell her I understand or know how she feels, because I don’t. My heart hurts for her.

Pray for my friend, her former spouse, and their separate support systems. May she find peace, happiness, and herself.

What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

